top of page

WPS Agenda: Resolution 2106(2013)

Resolution 2106 marked the sixth resolution under the WPS Agenda. Adopted on June 24, 2013, the resolution called on states to treat “combating sexual violence” as a matter of “absolute priority.” Adding to the previous resolutions, Resolution 2106 effectively called for action-oriented and operational detail. It called for a dedicated focus on operationalizing current obligations instead of establishing new structures and initiatives and called for more routes to enable access to justice.

What does Resolution 2106 say?

A total of 48 countries sponsored Resolution 2106* came in three years after Resolution 1960 (2010). The resolution specifically calls for states to prioritize the zero tolerance policy against sexual violence and calls for both implementing the resolutions by operationalizing prevailing obligations under the resolutions so far. Within its text, the resolution also acknowledged that men and boys can be and are indeed targeted by sexual violence in armed conflict, as well. Recognizing that the resolutions had not been implemented strongly enough, the resolution specifically highlighted the need to prosecute and penalize sexual violence as a crime against humanity and as a war crime that endangers international peace and security.

At the session when Resolution 2106 was adopted, then UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon stated: “[s]exual violence, whenever and wherever it occurs, is a vile crime. It must be exposed and met with the anger and action that it deserves.”

Broadly, Resolution 2106:

  • Draws attention to the importance of a comprehensive approach to transitional justice in armed conflict and post-conflict situations, encompassing the full range of judicial and non-judicial measures.

  • Calls for the systematic monitoring of and attention to sexual violence in armed conflict and post-conflict situations and other women and peace and security commitments in its own work.

  • Expresses its intent to employ, as appropriate, all means at its disposal to ensure women’s participation in all aspects of mediation, post-conflict recovery and peacebuilding and to address sexual violence in conflict, including, among other things, in the establishment and review of peacekeeping and political mandates, public statements, country visits, fact-finding missions, international commissions of inquiry, consultations with regional bodies and in the work of relevant Security Council sanctions committees;

  • Calls for the further deployment of Women Protection Advisors (WPA) in accordance with resolution 1888 to facilitate the implementation of Security Council resolutions on women and peace and security

  • Urges existing sanctions committees, where within the scope of the relevant criteria for designation, and consistent with resolution 1960 (2010) to apply targeted sanctions against those who perpetrate and direct sexual violence in conflict; and reiterates its intention, when adopting or renewing targeted sanctions in situations of armed conflict, to consider including, where appropriate, designation criteria pertaining to acts of rape and other forms of serious sexual violence;

  • Requests the Secretary-General and relevant United Nations entities to assist national authorities, with the effective participation of women, in addressing sexual violence concerns explicitly in the contexts of disarmament, demobilization and reintegration processes, security sector reform processes and arrangements, and justice sector reform initiatives.

Engaging further

Read the full text on Resolution 2106 here.


United Nations: New Security Council Resolution Against Sexual Violence (Read)

Addressing Wartime Sexual Violence at the United Nations Security Council (Read)

*Sponsoring countries: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Togo, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America

bottom of page